Tigresses lose to WI eve in Women’s World T20I

Published : 10 Nov 2018, 15:20

Jagoroniya Desk

Bangladesh started their ICC Women’s World T20I champion with a losing note as they suffered a 60-run defeat to holders West Indies in their opening Group A match held on Saturday at Guyana National Stadium in West Indies.

Chasing a winning target of 107 runs set by West Indies, Bangladesh Eve found the chess stiff and eventually dismissed at a paltry total of 46 in 14.4 overs.

A five wickets haul by Deandra Dottin rescued the defending champions West Indies after the hosts faltered in unfriendly conditions for stroke-play in Guyana. She finished with an impressive spells of the third-best figures ever recorded in women’s T20Is – 3.4-0-6-5.

Nether any Bangladesh batsman able to reach the double figure as the West Indies bowlers launched early inroad Pocking up wickets in regular intervals.

The Tigresses were unprepared for such fury. Their feet wouldn’t move. Their bats didn’t work. And their presence didn’t matter. Dottin only saw the wickets behind Fargana Hoque, Nigar Sultana, Rumana Ahmed, Lata Mondal and Salma Khatun. She broke them four times in 22 deliveries to record the best figures by a West Indian in women’s T20Is.

Earlier, West Indies scored a small total of 106 for 8 from their slotted 20 overs after they were forced to bat first by Bangladesh.

Cameo Kycia A Knight rescued west Indies with a responsable knock of 32 while skipper Stafanie Taylor added 29 after West Indies lost both their openers early.

Jahanara Alam was the pick of Bangladesh bowler taking three West Indies’s wickets for 23 runs. She was well supported by Rumana Ahmed who took two wickets for 16 runs.

Deandra Dottin of West Indies was named the player of the match for her impressive bowling performance.

Bangladesh, which placed in group A along with England, South Africa Sri Lanka and West Indies, will play their remaining group matches against England, Sri Lanka and South Africa on November 12, 14 and 18 respectively at Darren Sammy Cricket Ground, Gros Islet.

Earlier, the Tigresses beat Ireland by six wickets in their first warm-up match but lost to Pakistan by eight runs in their second group match.

Bangladesh women’s team: Salma Khatun (captain), Rumana Ahmed, Nahida Akter, Jahanara Alam, Panna Ghosh, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Sanjida Islam, Fahima Khatun, Khadiza-Tul Kubra, Lata Mondal, Ritu Moni, Ayasha Rahman, Nigar Sultana Joty, Shamima Sultana (wicket keeper) and Sharmin Supta.

Source: bss

  • Latest
  • Most viewed