PM distributes fellowships, research allowances for science and technology studies

Published : 05 Mar 2020, 18:06

Jagoroniya Desk

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Thursday distributed Bangabandhu Fellowship, National Science and Technology (NST) Fellowship and research allowances among the students and researchers for further improvement of the science and technology.

The premier distributed the fellowships and research allowances among the students and researchers for 2019-20 fiscal year in a function organised by the Ministry of Science and Technology at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital.

Minister for Science and Technology Architect Yeafesh Osman presided over the function while chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the Ministry of Science and Technology Dr AFM Ruhal Haque spoke, among others, on the occasion while senior secretary of the ministry Md Anwar Hossain gave welcome address.

The premier said her government has disbursed around Taka 155.46 crore among 519 students for MS, PhD, and post-doctorial studies from 2010-2011 to 2019-2020 fiscal years under the “Bangabandhu Science and Technology Fellowship Trust.”

She said that the ministry of science and technology has introduced “National Science and Technology Fellowship” for M Phil, PhD, and post-doctorial studies among the students and researchers.

From 2009-10 to 2019-20 fiscal years, the ministry has distributed Taka 82.62crore among 13,225 students while Taka 19.38 crore was given to 3200 students during 2019-20 fiscal year, she informed.

Besides the fellowship, research allowance is being distributed among the scientists and researchers for inspiring them to conduct researches on science and technology.

The premier said that as many as Taka 130.93 crore have been distributed under 3242 projects from 2009-10 to 2019-20 fiscal years.

During 2019-20 fiscal a total of Taka 16 crore was given under 561 projects as research assistance, she added.


  • Latest
  • Most viewed