Sheikh Hasina sworn in as PM for 4th time

Published : 07 Jan 2019, 16:35

Jagoroniya Desk

The new ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers have been sworn-in to the cabinet as the first step towards formation of Sheikh Hasina’s third consecutive government.

President Abdul Hamid administered the oath to the batch of new ministers – comprising mostly of new faces – at the Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban this afternoon.

Sheikh Hasina swore in for the fourth time as prime minister of Bangladesh government for the fourth time; the third in a row since the government of 2009.

Cabinet Secretary M Shafiul Alam moderated the ceremony. The functionalities began from 3:30pm with recitation from the Holy Quran.


The names of the cabinet members have already been publicised. In total, there are 47 ministers, state ministers and deputies – almost all of who are new faces.

This new cabinet will not see most of its previous members including some heavyweight ones and those from alliance members of the ruling coalition.

For the first time in 22 years, the new council of ministers will be a single-party one.

Among the 47 members in the new council of ministers, 27 are first timers.

Besides, four of them Abdur Razzaque, Dipu Moni, Hasan Mahmud and Begum Monnuzan Sufian were members of the Hasina-led cabinet in 2009-2014.

Source: thedailystar

  • Latest
  • Most viewed